Top 5 Favorite Things About The Holidays

5 Dec

I woke up this morning to the sound of snow plows scraping the ground, and the only thing I could think of is Christmas and what my favorite things about the holidays are. Now, the reason that this warrants a post is because I normally don’t fall into the “Christmas Spirit”, but this year things are quite different than most (thanks to my roommate and my girlfriend)… I have less people around me this holiday season than I normally do but I feel more at home and accepted here than I ever have anywhere else, and these people really are the closest thing I have to family at the moment.

So I feel like its only appropriate that I tell you what my 5 favorite things about the Holidays and in return you post some of the things you love the most about this particular time of year.

So dust off that vhs copy of Nightmare Before Christmas, tuck your socks into your long johns, and let the soothing sounds of Boyz II Men christmas album bring you to a place you haven’t been since a blackberry was merely a fruit, and a bluetooth came from eating Blue Raspberry Blow Pops.

5.The TBS Christmas Story Marathon
I remember when I was a kid I hated this because my sisters would actually make me watch this from Midnight on Christmas Eve until Midnight on Dec. 26th. As an adult this movie simply serves as a remnant of a better time. A time when things were pure like the snow before those god awful plows came…lol

4. The Mall (any mall really)

I love the feeling that accompanies being in the mall at Christmas time. Now, I have lived in a bunch of different places in my 22 years on Earth and the one constant is the mall at Christmas. Nothing changes regardless of geographic location, from the decorations, to that god awful overhead music, to that sketchy Santa Claus impersonator that leaves you wondering “What does that guy do with his life during the other 11 months out of the year?”

3. Food

Growing up in a spanish home, my favorite thing about pretty much every holiday is the food. I mean I was raised in a single parent household like most kids who lived in my neighborhood with 3 older sisters and all they did was cook for 3 days straight before every holiday, so the only thing I had to do was set the table and bring my appetite.

2. Nike Limited Christmas Releases

I am and will always be a “sneakerhead” first and “blogger” second, so naturally my favorite time of year for sneaker releases is around the holidays. Nike always seems to know exactly what to release in order to get their followers to “cream themselves” over whatever the spice of the moment is.

1. The Holiday Spirit

More than anything else during the holidays, the only thing that could ever trump watching old ladies fight over the years hottest toy in the mall, or digging in to a heaping plate of Arroz con Gandules and Pernil, or hearing the phrase “You’ll shoot your eye out!” 48 times in a matter of 24 hours is Holiday Spirit. I love seeing how people who are jerks under normal circumstances turn into the most light hearted, cheerful and amazingly kind human beings over the span of about a month and a half. The worst kind of people parade around with the sunniest of dispositions and its all because they did exactly what I just did here. There is something about the holidays that has the most uncanny effect on people’s personalities, like it automatically brings people back to their childhood, back to a place when things were so much more simple than bills, rent and work.

I guess the real reason people lose that cheer is because they get consumed by the trappings of life, so in turn my New Year’s resolution for 2011 is not to lose my Holiday Spirit….. Try it out see how it works…

Stay Safe, Stay Wise, Stay True

– DedBeetz

Leave a Reply

